skip to Main Content

Mission

Insight Counseling Centers exists to restore lives to wholeness - mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

To accomplish this important work we seek to…

  • Provide excellent professionally licensed psychotherapy to any individual, couple or family in our community.
  • Offer help and healing from a heart of compassion and personal faith that accepts and respects the beliefs of every individual with whom we work.
  • Raise and provide financial support to help those who cannot otherwise afford care.

Serving Middle Tennessee since 1985

Insight Counseling Centers, formerly known as the Pastoral Counseling Centers of Tennessee, Inc., was formed in 1985 when a handful of visionary people from Vine Street Christian Church brought to fruition their dream of providing spiritually informed and psychologically sound counseling for the Nashville area. Now 30 years later, we have grown to seven additional centers throughout Middle Tennessee and provide 5,000 hours of counseling to individuals, couples, and families in our community every year.

In addition to counseling services, we provide professional training opportunities  and mental health awareness education.

A spiritually-integrative approach

Pastoral Counseling is a unique form of counseling that uses spiritual resources as well as psychological understanding for healing and growth. Traditionally, Pastoral Counselors are mental health professionals who also have in-depth religious and theological training. Most Pastoral Counselors are ordained clergy or persons otherwise endorsed by a religious faith group.

Core Values

Compassion, Respect, Honesty, Acceptance,
Inclusion, Diversity, Wholeness, Professionalism

The work of Insight Counseling Centers is grounded in the compassionate and healing nature of God. We are called to embody God’s healing presence to people of all faith traditions and those who claim no faith tradition. This means we seek to:

  • Meet each client, colleague, and student with compassion, respect, and honesty.
  • Accept and include each person as a reflection of the rich diversity of God’s creation.
  • Join with each client in their journey to wholeness, focusing on their needs, and going wherever their process of self-discovery and renewal leads.
  • Provide for each client the highest professional standards through rigorous training, certification, licensure, and peer consultation.
A Brief Introduction to Pastoral Counseling Click to view A Brief Introduction to Pastoral Counseling

Board of Directors

Mr. Russell Riebeling, Chair
Dr. Fern Richie, Vice Chair
Ms. Anne Laurence Johnson, Secretary
Mrs. Karen Montgomery, Treasurer
Mr. Gary Briggs
Rev. Dr. Patricia Brock
Mrs. Caroline Coulton
Ms. Shelly Hadley
Ms. Stephanie Hickerson
Mr. Wells Johnson
Rev. Thomas Kleinert
Mr. Joe McKnight
Rev. Steven Meriwether
Ms. Merry Beth Ward
Mr. Jonathan Weaver

Staff

Pam Brown

Pam Brown

Executive Director
615.383.2115, ext. 108
pam@insightcenters.org
John Ray

John Ray

Mt. Juliet Branch Coordinator
615.383.2115, ext. 105
john@insightcenters.org
Carol Smith

Carol Smith

Director of Clinical Services & Training
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
615.383.2115, ext. 112
carol@insightcenters.org
Craig Wascovich

Craig Wascovich

Clarksville Center Director
Licensed Clinical Pastoral Therapist
615.383.2115, ext. 107
craig@insightcenters.org
Karen Potratz

Karen Potratz

Murfreesboro Center Director
Licensed Clinical Social Worker
615.383.2115, ext. 103
karen@insightcenters.org
Barbara Tamkin

Barbara Tamkin

Hendersonville Branch Coordinator
615.383.2115, ext. 104
barbara@insightcenters.org
Sarah Wendell

Sarah Wendell

Counseling Intern
615.383.2115, ext. 121
swendell@insightcenters.org
Claudia Avila-Lopez

Claudia Avila-Lopez

Madison Branch & Spanish Services Coordinator
Licensed Master Social Worker
615.383.2115, ext. 106
claudia@insightcenters.org
Jeremy Sublett

Jeremy Sublett

Williamson County Centers Director
Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC-MHSP)
615.383.2115, ext. 102
jeremy@insightcenters.org
Monét Shell

Monét Shell

Counseling Intern
615.383.2115, ext. 113
monet@insightcenters.org
Krystal LaCoy

Krystal LaCoy

Counseling Intern
615.383.2115, ext. 116
krystal@insightcenters.org
Brooke Lamb

Brooke Lamb

Pastoral Counselor
615.383.2115, ext. 119
brooke@insightcenters.org
Sarah Grove

Sarah Grove

Pastoral Counselor
615.383.2115, ext. 115
sarah@insightcenters.org
Shonda Foublasse

Shonda Foublasse

Post-Graduate Clinical Fellow
615.383.2115, ext. 122
shonda@insightcenters.org
Dwight Hughes

Dwight Hughes

Pastoral Counselor
615.383.2115, ext. 117
dwight@insightcenters.org
Aimee Sullivan

Aimee Sullivan

Counseling Intern
615.383.2115, ext. 114
aimee@insightcenters.org
Hannah Feliciano

Hannah Feliciano

Counseling Intern
615.383.2115, ext. 123
hannah@insightcenters.org
Brydget Carrillo

Brydget Carrillo

Financial Coordinator
615.383.2115, ext. 111
brydget@insightcenters.org
Abbie Culbertson

Abbie Culbertson

Director of Marketing & Communications
615.383.2115, ext. 110
abbie@insightcenters.org
Back To Top